Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Jim Reeves

jim reeves

It may surprise some but I have eleven JIm Reeves songs on my iPod, still a small number within the 14,495, but one of them is one of my all time favourite songs.

“There’s A Heartache Following Me” – Jim Reeves

Sometimes they ask me if I’m really happy now I say sure I’ve never loved her anyhow
But inside I long for you and the way it used to be
I look around and there’s a heartache following me
I always say that I’m really glad you’re gone I even act like I never cared at all
But your mem’ry lingers on and I’m never really free
I look around and there’s a heartache following me
I pawned my ring and everything that tied me to the past
I say I never loved her never meant for it to last
But I know it’s just a game and the loser’s always me
I look around and there’s a heartache following me

My first encounter with this Ray Baker composed song came via the version which appeared on Pete Townshend’s first commercially available solo album “Who Came First”

who came first

“There’s A Heartache Following Me” – Pete Townshend

James Travis Reeves (August 20, 1923–July 31, 1964) was an American country and pop music singer-songwriter popular in the 1950s and 1960s who also gained a wide international following for his pioneering smooth Nashville sound. Known as Gentleman Jim, his songs continued to chart for years following his death at age 40 in a private airplane crash. He is a member of the Country Music and Texas Country Music halls of fame.

 

For more information on Jim Reeves click HERE

 

To buy the music of Jim Reeves click HERE

 

To buy the music of Pete Townshend click HERE

October 22, 2009 - Posted by | Old Music, The Who | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment