Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Yellow Submarine

yellow submarine

Now this shouldn’t take long.

The irony is that this animated film was the best movie they had been involved in, yet it had a soundtrack which was never going to match their earlier so called “soundtrack” albums.

The album was released on the 17th January 1969, side one featured six original Beatles compositions though “Yellow Submarine” and “All You Need Is Love” had both already been successful in both single and album track form.

The second side was a new recording by George Martin of the film’s orchestral score.

YellowSubmarineMoviePosterDutch

“Yellow Submarine” did not reach number one in the album charts when released, peaking at #3, due in the main to the fact that “The Beatles” album still held that position.

It was however not ALL doom and gloom and a couple of George Harrison songs left over from the Sgt Pepper sessions give some value to the album.

“Only A Northern Song” seems to almost belittle his perceived “ranking” as a songwriter within the band and is a dig at living in the shadow of the Lennon & McCartney publishing powerhouse “Northern Songs”

northern-songs-book

If you’re listening to this song
You may think the chords are going wrong
But they’re not
He just wrote it like that

When you’re listening late at night
You may think the band are not quite right
But they are, They just play it like that

It doesn’t really matter what chords I play
What words I say or time of day it is
As it’s only a Northern song.

It doesn’t really matter what clothes I wear
Or how I fare or if my hair is brown
When it’s only a Northern song.

If you think the harmony
Is a little dark and out of key
You’re correct, Is nobody there
and I told you is no one there

Harrison’s other composition approached life from a totally different perspective “It’s All Too Much” is a powerhouse of a song which the likes of The Who would have been so proud………………howling feedback into clapped hands percussion this was a totally different vibe for George it’s almost too much to take.

It’s all to much
It’s all to much

When I look into your eyes, your love is there for me
And the more I go inside, the more there is to see

It’s all too much for me to take
The love that’s shining all around you
Everywhere, it’s what you make
For us to take, it’s all too much

Floating down the stream of time, of life to life with me
Makes no difference where you are or where you’d like to be

It’s all too much for me to take
The love that’s shining all around here
All the world is birthday cake,
So take a piece but not too much

Sail me on a silver sun, for I know that I’m free
Show me that I’m everywhere, and get me home for tea

It’s all to much for me to see
A love that’s shining all around here
The more I am, the less I know
And what I do is all too much

It’s all too much for me to take
The love that’s shining all around you
Everywhere, it’s what you make
For us to take, it’s all too much

It’s too much…..It’s too much

with your long blonde hair and your eyes of blue(x2)
you’re too much
(mumblings)

Too much too much too much (fade to end)

Note the lyric “…with your long blonde hair and your eyes of blue…” remind you of anything? It is of course “Sorrow”  (Bob Feldman, Jerry Goldstein, Richard Gottehrer) a song first recorded by The McCoys. It became a big hit in the United Kingdomin a version by The Merseys, reaching number 4 in the UK charts on 28 April 1966. A version by David Bowie was also a hit in 1973.

Richard Gottehrer went on to have a successful career as a record producer working with amongst others Blondie.

Last word then goes to Ringo.

For more information on this album click HERE

To buy the music of The Beatles click HERE

Visit www.thebeatles.com

September 13, 2009 - Posted by | Old Music, Video |

No comments yet.

Leave a comment