Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Abbey Road

abbey road

Once again we have to address some single releases before delving into yet another classic album.

To avoid confusion please remember that the “Let It Be” sessions were actually recorded AHEAD of those which would form the “Abbey Road” album.

More of which you will find on within the forthcoming post on “Let It Be”

In the meantime the 11th of April 1969 saw the release of the “Get Back”/”Don’t Let Me Down” single, both songs featuring Billy Preston on keyboards.

Get Back

Whilst we will cover “Get Back” in the “Let It Be” post we must not over look “Don’t Let Me Down” which was one of John Lennon’s most endearing love songs and fully targeted at Yoko.

Don’t let me down, don’t let me down.
Don’t let me down, don’t let me down.

Nobody ever loved me like she does,
Ooh she does, yeah she does.
And if somebody loved me like she’d do me,
Oh she’d do me, yeah she does.

Don’t let me down, don’t let me down.
Don’t let me down, don’t let me down.

I’m in love for the first time.
Don’t you know it’s gonna last.
It’s a love that lasts forever,
It’s a love that has no past.

Don’t let me down, don’t let me down.
Don’t let me down, don’t let me down.

And from the first time that she really done me,
Ooh she done me, she done me good.
I guess nobody ever really done me,
Ooh she done me, she done me good.

Don’t let me down, don’t let me down, please.
Don’t let me down, don’t let me down, please.

Ow! Don’t let me down
Don’t let me down
(Can you dig it?)
Don’t let me down.

the ballad of john and yoko
A quick follow up single was released on the 30th May in the form of “The Ballad Of John and Yoko” which was Lennon’s narrative on his efforts to try to persuade Yoko to marry him.

Finally “Abbey Road” the album was released on the 26th September 1969 featuring the last songs they recorded together.

The recorded product is sometimes almost overlooked by the interest shown in the myths surrounding the sleeve design and the now iconic zebra crossing which today is “blessed” with a 24/7 webcam.

What about the music, well it was deemed by the public good enough to hold the #1 spot in the album charts for a total of 17 weeks (so far) bettered only by “Let It Be”.

The album is somewhat split in two with the first side a series of fantastic songs, with the exception of “Maxwell’s Silver Hammer” and “Octopus’s Garden”

The second side is dominated by what is now known as the “Abbey Road Suite”.

George Harrison contributes another two classic songs “Something” and “Here Comes The Sun” the former drawing the infamous quote from Frank Sinatra that “Something is the best song ever written by Lennon and McCartney”

Many believe that Harrison’s inspiration for “Something” was his wife at the time, Pattie Boyd. Boyd also claimed that inspiration in her 2007 autobiography, Wonderful Tonight, where she wrote: “He told me, in a matter-of-fact way, that he had written it for me.”

However, Harrison has cited other sources of inspiration to the contrary. In a 1996 interview he responded to the question of whether the song was about Pattie: “Well no, I didn’t [write it about her]. I just wrote it, and then somebody put together a video. And what they did was they went out and got some footage of me and Pattie, Paul and Linda, Ringo and Maureen, it was at that time, and John and Yoko and they just made up a little video to go with it. So then, everybody presumed I wrote it about Pattie, but actually, when I wrote it, I was thinking of Ray Charles.”

I think my favourite song is the dark and brooding “I Want You (She’s So Heavy” perhaps short on lyrics for a song of 7.47 mins in length but overflowing in the emotion of unrequited love.

I want you
I want you so bad
I want you,
I want you so bad
It’s driving me mad, it’s driving me mad.
I want you
I want you so bad babe
I want you,
I want you so bad
It’s driving me mad, it’s driving me mad.
I want you
I want you so bad babe
I want you,
I want you so bad
It’s driving me mad, it’s driving me mad.
I want you
I want you so bad
I want you,
I want you so bad
It’s driving me mad, it’s driving me …
She’s so heavy heavy, heavy, heavy.

She’s so heavy
She’s so heavy, heavy, heavy

I want you
I want you so bad
I want you,
I want you so bad
It’s driving me mad, it’s driving me mad.
I want you
You know I want you so bad babe
I want you,
You know I want you so bad
It’s driving me mad, it’s driving me mad
Yeh!

She’s so…

That sudden cut off still to this day catches me out!

What about the medley then? Well for a long time I thought it spoilt the album but as I grow older and wiser I have learned to love it to such a degree that “Abbey Road” pushes all the way to compete as being my favourite Beatles  with “The Beatles.

I will close with “The End” which with the exception of the throw away “Her Majesty” in more way than one brought the curtain down on The Beatles as the last song they recorded together.

“and in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make”

To learn more about this album click HERE

To buy the music of The Beatles click HERE

Visit www.thebeatles.com

 

 

September 14, 2009 - Posted by | Old Music, Video |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

