Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Sunday Jazz – Billie Holiday with Don’t Explain

Don’t Explain” is a song written by jazz singer Billie Holiday and Arthur Herzog Jr, it is said that she wrote the song after her husband, Jimmy Monroe, came home one night with lipstick traces on his collar.

“Don’t Explain” – Billie Holiday

Hush now, don’t explain
Just say you’ll remain
Unless you’re mad, don’t explain

My love, don’t explain
What is there to gain
Skip that lipstick
Don’t explain

You know that I love you
And what loving does
All my thoughts are real
For I’m so completely yours

Try to hear folks chatter
And I know you cheat
Right or wrong, don’t matter
When you’re with me, sweet

Hush now, don’t explain
You’re my love and pain
My life’s your love
Don’t explain

 

To buy the music of Billie Holiday click HERE

June 5, 2011 - Posted by | Jazz Vocal, Old Music |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

