Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Blue Monday – Bob Dylan

Despite being regarded as one of the greatest sonwriters ever Dylan has never been slow to honour his roots and inspiration either on record, in concert or more recently during his brilliant radio shows.

His inspiration for his debut album released in 1963 drew from American and Celtic Traditional Folk, Spitituals and of course the blues.

Blue Monday thus brings you three of those tracks in celebration of his roots.

First up is the traditional song “In My Time Of Dying” an early version of which was recorded by Blind Willie Johnson.

Well, in my time of dying don’t want nobody to mourn
All I want for you to do
is take my body home
Well, well, well, so I can die easy
Well, well, well

Well, well, well, so I can die easy
Jesus gonna make up, Jesus gonna make
up
Jesus gonna make up my dying bed.

Well, meet me Jesus, meet me,
meet me in the middle of the air
If these wings should fail to me,
Lord,
won’t you meet me with another girl ?
Well, well, well, so I can die
easy
Well, well, well
Well, well, well, so I can die easy
Jesus gonna
make up, Jesus gonna make up
Jesus gonna make up my dying bed.

Lord,
in my time of dying don’t want nobody to cry
All I want you to do is take me
when I die
Well, well, well, so I can die easy
Well, well, well
Well,
well, well, so I can die easy
Jesus gonna make up, Jesus gonna make
up
Jesus gonna make up my dying bed.

Next up is a Bukka White classic “Fixin’ To Die”

Feeling funny in my mind, Lord,
I believe I’m fixing to die
Feeling funny
in my mind, Lord
I believe I’m fixing to die
Well, I don’t mind
dying
But I hate to leave my children crying
Well, I look over yonder to
that burying ground
Look over yonder to that burying ground
Sure seems
lonesome, Lord, when the sun goes down

Feeling funny in my eyes,
Lord,
I believe I’m fixing to die, fixing to die
Feeling funny in my
eyes, Lord
I believe I’m fixing to die
Well, I don’t mind dying but
I
hate to leave my children crying
There’s a black smoke rising, Lord
It’s
rising up above my head, up above my head
It’s rising up above my head, up
above my head
And tell Jesus make up my dying bed.

I’m walking kind
of funny, Lord
I believe I’m fixing to die, fixing to die
Yes I’m walking
kind of funny, Lord
I believe I’m fixing to die
Fixing to die, fixing to
die
Well, I don’t mind dying
But I hate to leave my children
crying.

Finally and somewhat appropriate as an end to this theme is Blind Lemon Jefferson’s “See That My Grave Is Kept Clean”

Well there’s one kind of favor I’ll ask for you
Well there’s one kind of favor I’ll ask for you
There’s just one kind of favor I’ll ask for
you
You can see that my grave is kept clean.

And there’s two white
horses following me
And there’s two white horses following me
I got two
white horses following me
Waiting on my burying ground.

Did you ever
hear that coffin sound
Did you ever hear that coffin sound
Did you ever
hear that coffin sound
Means another poor boy is underground.

Did you
ever hear them church bells toll
Did you ever hear them church bells toll

Did you ever hear them church bells toll
Means another poor boy is dead
and gone.

And my heart stopped beating and my hands turned cold
And my heart stopped beating and my hands turned cold
And my heart stopped
beating and my hands turned cold
Now I believe what the Bible
told.

There’s just one last favor I’ll ask for you
And there’s one
last favor I’ll ask for you
There’s just one last favor I’ll ask for you

See that my grave is kept clean.

To buy the music of Bob Dylan click HERE

May 23, 2011 - Posted by | Blues, Old Music | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I’m probably the only guy on the planet who does not *get* the works of Mr Bob.

    I find his stuff annoying.

    Comment by Alan Findlay | May 23, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

