Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Poly Styrene


Poly Styrene, best known as the frontwoman with 1970s punk group X-Ray Spex, has died, she  was receiving treatment for an advanced form of breast cancer when she passed away on Monday 25 April aged 53.
A spokesperson confirmed her death saying everyone around her was saddened by the news.
Styrene, who was born Marian Joan Elliott-Said, shot to fame in 1976 with X-Ray Spex, and was immortalised in punk history with the song Oh Bondage, Up Yours! “Little girls should be seen and not heard,” Styrene would say to introduce the track.
X-Ray Spex released one album, the acclaimed Germ Free Adolescents in 1978, before Styrene left the group.
Despite her relatively short stint with the band, her perceived overt feminism and mixed-race heritage marked her out among her punk contemporaries and won her legions of fans for generations to come.
Beth Ditto, singer with Gossip, said: “Poly Styrene [was] so ahead of her time. She recreated punk.”
In a biography of the singer, said: “She sang in a raw, untutored scream that quavered and shook when she looked to extend her range, a vocal style echoed by riot grrls like Kathleen Hanna and Corin Tucker.”
Styrene went on to release a solo record in 1980, Translucence, but a series of traumatic incidents stalled her career.
The singer was sectioned after being misdiagnosed with schizophrenia in the 80s, and was later diagnosed with bipolar disorder. In 1995, she survived being hit by a fire engine.
Styrene was diagnosed with breast cancer earlier this year, and was told it had spread to her lungs and spine. Despite undergoing treatment, she gave numerous interviews in recent months to promote her latest solo album, Generation Indigo.
In an interview with the Guardian in March, she was described as “ironically upbeat” in spite of her health. She told the Guardian: “You remember that old song Que Sera Sera, Whatever will be, will be, the future’s not ours to see, I’ve always felt that. It’s been a rollercoaster ride, but I wouldn’t change a thing.”
Original Source


April 27, 2011 Posted by | New News, Video | , | Leave a comment

New News – New Blondie Album Coming Soon

“Panic Of Girls” will be Blondie’s first album since 2003’s “The Curse Of Blondie” and features new single Mother plus hits-in-waiting like What I’ve Heard, Girlie Girlie and China Shoes.


The legendary Debbie Harry describes the long-awaited album as “spanning a lot of styles and sentiments…a very strong album full of the spirit of Blondie. I have a good feeling about it.”

The album was recorded between October–December 2009 in Woodstock, New York, and May 2010 in Hoboken, New Jersey, being the second album in the band’s history to be recorded outside of Manhattan, after 1980s Autoamerican which was recorded in Los Angeles. The band’s drummer, Clem Burke, also said that about 35 songs were recorded during the sessions for the album, with only 14 that are going to make the album.

He has also said that all band members have contributed to the release, with vocalist Debbie Harry writing most of the lyrics. Original Blondie keyboardist Jimmy Destri planned to contribute to the writing and recording of this album, but was ultimately not a part of it.

Two tracks from the album, “What I Heard” and “Girlie Girlie”, were included on a special release of the band’s 1978 album Parallel Lines that came free with the British newspaper The Mail on Sunday on December 5, 2010. Another song, “Mother”, was made available as a free download from the band’s website.

On March 17th, 2011 the album’s first single ‘Mother’ was played for the first time globally on BBC Radio 2. The single will be available for purchase on May 23rd, 2011.

The album was originally due for release in 2010, but difficulties with record companies delayed the release. In an interview in the British Telegraph newspaper on March 24, 2011, Debbie Harry revealed that the band will be releasing the album themselves (i.e. without a record company) as part of a special “fan pack” in conjunction with Future Publishing.

The pack includes the album along with a special 132-page magazine charting the making of the album, the band’s history and includes many archive photographs. The fan pack will be available in the UK in over 3000 non-traditional music retail outlets including Tesco, Asda, Waitrose, WH Smith and Sainsburys and will be released on June 1st, 2011. The album itself will be released soon after.

Track listing


No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “D-Day”      
2. “What I Heard”   Matt Katz-Bohen, Laurel Katz-Bohen 3:19
3. “Mother”     3:12
4. “The End, the End”      
5. “Girlie Girlie”   Anthony Davis, Lloyd Daniels, Steve Golding 3:25
6. “Love Doesn’t Frighten Me”   Matt Katz-Bohen  
7. “Words in My Mouth”      
8. “Sunday Smile”   Zach Condon  
9. “Wipe Off My Sweat”      
10. “Le Bleu à l’âme”   Chris Stein, Gilles Riberolles  
11. “China Shoes”      
UK Fan Pack bonus tracks
No. Title Writer(s) Length
12. “Horizontal Twist”      
13. “Mirame”      

April 27, 2011 Posted by | New News, New Releases | | Leave a comment


%d bloggers like this: