Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Hall of Fame – Tom Waits

Tom Waits became a member of the prestigious US Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame yesterday evening, with Neil Young inducting him at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York.

About time !!

Photo: Kevin Mazur

Introducing Waits at the same venue where he was inducted by Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder in 1995, Young remarked that Waits was “a great performer, singer, actor, songwriter, magician, changeling and spiritual guy.”

The award was in recognition of a career and extensive body of work that has seen him carve a singular path outwith the musical mainstream from his early relatively straightly arranged poetic, character-driven, bar ballads through to encompassing or mixing wholly different styles, including beat boxing and experimental noise-making into his work.

Accepting, Waits said “Thanks, everybody, this is very encouraging. Songs are really just interesting things to do with the air. I was fifteen when I snuck into a club to see Lightning Hopkins. I wore an overcoat, put white-out in my hair, drew on a moustache and said in a deep voice, “One ticket please.” I saw Lightning walk through a door in the back room that said, ‘Keep Out!! This Room for entertainers only.’ At that moment, I realised I wanted to get into show business as soon as possible.”

He then paid gracious tribute to his partner both in life and music, whom he has always acknowledge plays a major role in his work, “I am grateful to my wife and my collaborator Kathleen Brennan. She is the light that helps me find my way and to my kids who have taught me everything I know.”, before painting an image fit for one of his songs with a wise-crack, “Some day, I hope to hear, “Hey Mack, take the cuffs off him, I think he’s a Hall of Famer!”.

Waits performed four songs at the ceremony, Make It Rain, Rain Dogs, House Where Nobody Lives and Get Behind The Mule (with Young accompanying on the last).

Also inducted at the 2011 ceremony were, Alice Cooper, Neil Diamond, Leon Russell, Dr John and Darlene Love.

Waits is currently working on a new album.

Tom Wait’s website.
Rock’N’Roll Hall Of Fame website.

Original source: www.qthemusic.com

March 27, 2011 - Posted by | New News, Video | ,

1 Comment »

  1. Didn’t know about this. Thanks for posting.

    Comment by bigrab | March 28, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

