Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Suze Rotolo

Bob Dylan‘s former girlfriend Suze Rotolo has died aged 67.

Rotolo, who passed away on February 24, went out with Dylan in the early 60s, and was the inspiration for some of his best-known songs including ‘Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right’, ‘Tomorrow Is A Long Time’ and ‘Boots Of Spanish Leather’.

She appears alongside Dylan on the cover of his 1963 album ‘The Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan’ (pictured).

Rotolo is also credited with turning Dylan onto politics, as well as influencing his painting.

According to Village Voice, Rotolo died of a long-term illness at her New York home. She is survived by her husband of 40 years, Enzo Bartoccioli.

Rotolo rarely discussed Dylan in public, although she did take part in Martin Scorsese‘s 2005 documentary No Direction Home, and wrote a memoir about her youth called A Freewheelin’ Time’ in 2008.

This book is well worth a read and for more information please view my earlier blog by clicking HERE

“Tomorrow Is A Long Time” – Bob Dylan

If today was not a crooked highway,
If tonight was not a crooked trail,
If tomorrow wasn’t such a long time,
Then lonesome would mean nothing to you at all.
Yes, and only if my own true love was waitin’,
And if I could only hear her heart a-softly poundin’,
Yes and only if she was lyin’ by me,
Then I’d lie in my bed once again.

I can’t see my reflection in the water(s),
I can’t speak the sounds that show no pain,
I can’t hear the echo of my footsteps,
Or can’t remember the sound of my own name.
Yes, and only if my own true love was waitin’,
And if I could only hear her heart a-softly poundin’,
Yes and only if she was lyin’ by me,
Then I’d lie in my bed once again.

There’s beauty in the silver, singin’ river,
There’s beauty in the rainbow in the sky,
But no one and nothing else can touch the beauty
That I remember in my true love’s eyes.
Yes, and only if my own true love was waitin’,
And if I could only hear her heart a-softly poundin’,
Yes and only if she was lyin’ by me,
Then I’d lie in my bed once again.

To buy the music of Bob Dylan click HERE

March 7, 2011 - Posted by | Blast from The Past, New News, Old Music, Video | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

