Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

New Music – Cowboy Junkies

One of my favourite groups the Cowboy Junkies have a new album out this week.

It’s title is “Demons – The Nomad Series Volume 2” and it is an album of songs by the late great Vic Chesnutt as a tribute to their long time friend and occasional collaborator.

Here’s what the band themselves had to say about the recording:

“We had been discussing with Vic, off and on for the past couple of years, about doing a Chesnutt/Junkies album. During one of the last conversation that I had with Vic, he mentioned that he was working on a series of songs about his childhood that he wanted to bring to the collaboration. So, it only seems fitting that we record an album of Vic’s songs. His catalogue is so deep and for the most part, so overlooked. It will be a labour of love.”

"Vic Chestnutt"

“We tried to approach Demons with the same sense of adventure that Vic undertook in all of his projects (or at least that is the way his recordings sound). We let happy accidents happen; we tried to invest his songs with the same spirit and the adventure with which they were written, at the same time investing them with our own Northern spin. Exploring his songs and delving deeper and deeper into them has been an intense, moving and joyous experience. I don’t think Vic would have wanted it any other way.”

“Flirted With You All My Life” – Cowboy Junkies

I am a man
I am self-aware
And everywhere I go
You’re always right there with me
I flirted with you all my life
Even kissed you once or twice
And to this day I swear it was nice but
Clearly, I was not ready

When you touched a friend of mine
I thought I would lose my mind
But I found out with time that
Really, I was not ready.

Oh death
Oh death
Oh death
Really, I’m not ready

Oh death you enter me
Death’s unmade those dear to me
And tease me with your sweet relief
You’re cruel and you are constant

When my mom was cancer sick
She fought, but then succumbed to it
But you made her beg for it
Lord Jesus, please I’m ready

Oh death
Oh death
Oh death
Really, I’m not ready

Oh death
Oh death
Oh death
Clearly, I’m not ready

To buy the music of the Cowboy Junkies click HERE

February 24, 2011 - Posted by | Cover Stories, New Music, New Releases, Video | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

