Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

New Music – Vanity Theft

With a name that sounds like it should be a James Bond leading lady Vanity Theft release their full-length album, Get What You Came For, in February via Vigilante Music/Adamant Records.

The album was preceded by the EP Anatomy in October 2010.

“Anatomy” – Vanity Theft

Their songs sound somewhere between the work of Sleater-Kinney and the Ting Tings and are mostly about past romances and as such fit right into the storied legacy of all-girl bands bent on debunking benign all-girl conventions.

For instance, “we’ve gone through a lot of breakups,” says Elyse. “So for me, a lot of the lyrics are really sarcastic.” The melancholic “Missing Teeth” messes with Auto-Tune to detail an ex’s shortcomings; the highly danceable “Trainwreck” is about finding sexual empowerment in a dysfunctional relationship; and “Bit by Bit” uses stabbing riffs and retro synths to soundtrack being obsessed with the wrong person.

To buy the music of Vanity Theft click HERE


February 8, 2011 - Posted by | New Music, New Releases, Video |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: