Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

2010 Top 30 New and Old #12

John Legend & the Roots - Wake Up!

 

“I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free” – John Legend and The Roots

I wish  I knew how it would feel to be free
I wish I could break all the chains holding me
I wish I could say all the things that  I should say
say 'em loud, say 'em clear
for the whole round world to hear.

I wish I could share all the love that's in my heart
remove all the bars that keep us apart
I wish you could know what it means to be me
Then you'd see and agree
that every man should be free.

I wish I could give all I'm longing to give
I wish I could live like I'm longing to live
I wish that I could do all the things that  I can do
though I'm way overdue I'd be starting anew.

Well I wish  I could be like a bird in the sky
how sweet it would be if I found  I could fly
Oh I'd soar to the sun and look down at the sea
and I'd sing cos I'd know that
and I'd sing cos I'd know that
and I'd sing cos I'd know that
I'd know how it feels to be free
I'd know how it feels to be free
I'd know how it feels to be free

I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free” is a song written by Billy Taylor & Dick Dallas. Originally recorded by Nina Simone in 1967 on her Silk & Soul album.

Billy Taylor’s own instrumental version, recorded the same year, is used as the theme music for The Film programme on BBC television.

To buy the music of John Legend and The Roots click HERE

To view similar previous post click HERE

Second entry to feature Elkie, this time in her own right as a solo performer with a Dylan cover version the second in a row in this series!

“The Groom’s Still Waiting At The Alter” – Elkie Brooks

To buy the music of Elkie Brooks click HERE

To view another post on Elkie Brooks click HERE

December 19, 2010 - Posted by | Blast from The Past, Cover Stories, New Music, Old Music, R&B, Soul | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Loving this by Elkie. This has to be the best cover , by Elkie Brooks.

    Comment by Dave | December 19, 2010 | Reply

    • The song being sung by a women gives it an extra edge.

      Thanks for dropping in

      HD

      Comment by thehelplessdancer | December 19, 2010 | Reply

  2. Great version. Not just any woman. Elkie Brooks has to be the only U.K. female singer that can sing rock.

    Comment by Pete | December 27, 2010 | Reply

    • Good as she is there are other great U.K. female singers who can sing rock not least the great Maggie Bell.

      Thanks for dropping in again.

      HD

      Comment by thehelplessdancer | December 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

