Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

2010 Top 30 New and Old #30

Well December is here again, can hardly believe it to be honest, it used to be a favourite month of mine but now for me it is a month of reflecting rather than enjoying.

Anyway it gives me an opportunity to look back on my year of musical enlightenment and as such for the next 30 days I bring for your enjoyment my Top 30 new songs of 2010 plus my Top 30 favourite songs which I have rediscovered within the year.

John Peel’s Festive 50 was always a great listen and though this selection will never match the great man’s breadth and taste hopefully at least one reader will discover for their enjoyment a song which had originally passed them by.

To all, enjoy and be lucky!!!

HD 

Let’s get the party started with a couple of drink related tracks.

“Hotel Mini Bar” – Jackie Leven

This was taken from Jackie’s 2010 album “Gothic Road” which I picked back in March.

To buy the music of Jackie Leven click HERE

To review original post click HERE

The first Blast From The Past is a cure for the Hotel Mini Bar in that it is a cover of a great  Ike and Tina Turner song called “Black Coffee”.

This version is by Humble Pie which is fitting as the music of Steve Marriot in it’s various forms has never been far from my ears this year.

“Black Coffee” – Humble Pie

I had this as a double album in the 70’s but was reliant on a CD version until I picked up the vinyl version again at a Record Fair in Glasgow last March.

To buy the music of Humble Pie click HERE

To view an earlier Humble Pie post click HERE

December 1, 2010 - Posted by | Old Music, Video | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

