Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Return Of Adele

Adele returns early in the new year with her second album “21” on 24th January.This  follows on from her 2008 debut “19” which became a big seller on both sides of the Atlantic.

A single “Rolling In The Deep” will be released a week in advance of the album and you watch an advance video for the release below.

Adele’s last album “19” featured one of my all time favourite Dylan covers, her version of “Make You Feel My Love”

For previous Adele post click HERE

To buy the music of Adele click HERE

November 16, 2010 Posted by | New News, New Releases, Video | | 6 Comments

The Red Devils

The Red Devils were/are regarded as a bit of a “cult” band as the raw blues outfit released only one official album with that being a live recording produced by Rick Rubin.

The album was titled “King King” which was the name of their favourite venue where the album was recorded.

I bought the album at the time of its release  on impulse from Tower Records in Glasgow and it remains one of my favourite buys.

“She’s Dangerous” – The Red Devils

As you will have heard from the Willie Dixon cover above the band were a no frills hard-hitting outfit which mixed their blues influence with a real in your face attitude.

Track listing

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Automatic”   Willie Love 3:26
2. “Goin’ To The Church”   Lester Butler 4:07
3. “She’s Dangerous”   Willie Dixon 5:02
4. “I Wish You Would”   Billy Boy Arnold 3:01
5. “Cross Your Heart”   Rice Miller (aka Sonny Boy Williamson II) 4:28
6. “Tail Dragger”   Willie Dixon 5:24
7. “Devil Woman”   The Red Devils 6:57
8. “No Fightin'”   Butler 5:56
9. “Mr. Highway Man”   Chester Burnett (aka Howlin’ Wolf) 3:35
10. “I’m Ready”   Willie Dixon 3:46
11. “Quarter to Twelve”   Marion Jacobs (aka Little Walter) 7:03
12. “Cut That Out”   Junior Wells 4:59

To buy the music of The Red Devils click HERE

Around the same time as recording this album Rick Rubin was working with Johnny Cash on his Def American Recordings, (the man in the beard meeting the man in black) for some of the sessions he used The Red Devils as backing musicians and some of these sessions eventually saw the light of day within the Cash’s 2004 5 disc box set “Unearthed”

Here they are with Johnny on a version of the appropriately titled Steve Earle song “Devil’s Right Hand” (for info the box set also includes their contribution to “T For Texas”)

“Devil’s Right Hand” – Johnny Cash (with The Red Devils)

To buy the music of Johnny Cash click HERE

November 16, 2010 Posted by | Blast from The Past, Blues, Old Music, Video | , , , | 1 Comment


%d bloggers like this: