Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

John Mellencamp – No Better Than This

I have often through the years dropped into the music of John (Cougar) Mellencamp and as such I was intrigued to read about his new album “No Better Than This” produced unsurprisingly by T-Bone Burnett, which is a return to basics to the extent of recording in mono and in iconic locations such as the First African Baptist Church in Savannah, Georgia, which as its name suggests was the very first black church in America; Room 404 at the Gunter Hotel in San Antonio, where hardwood flooring was temporarily relaid over the carpet to acquire similar acoustics to those prevailing when Robert Johnson laid down his first historic recordings there; and Sun Studio in Memphis, location of a thousand magical moments, where Burnett’s band set up according to floor markings determined decades earlier by Sam Phillips for optimal sound quality.

But it’s the material recorded at Sun Studio that forms the bulk of the album, and traverses the widest range of emotions, from the jaunty rockabilly of “No One Cares about Me” and the title-track, driven along like a horse-drawn buggy by the slap of David Roe’s string bass and Jay Bellerose’s sit-up-and-beg drum groove, to the suicidal despair of “A Graceful Fall”

“A Graceful Fall” – John Mellencamp

It’s not a graceful fall
From dreams to the truth
There’s not a lotta hope here
If you got nothing to lose
When your vision’s no good
When you’re flat on the ground
Yeah the future’s not bright
When you’re falling down

‘Cause I’m sick of life
Yeah it’s easy to do
When everything so hard
Has been handed to you
Yeah I’m sick of life
‘Cause it’s lost its fun
I’ll see you in the next world
If there is really one

Well I’m not falling up the ladder
I’m just putting in my days
My pockets are empty
And my aces won’t play
Yeah I’m movin’ down the street
And I’m going nowhere
It’s not a graceful fall
When you don’t care

‘Cause I’m sick of life
And it’s easy to do
When everything so hard
Has been handed to you
‘Cause I’m sick of life
And it’s lost its fun
I’ll see you in the next world
If there is really one
Yeah, I’m sick of life
‘Cause I’m falling down
I’ll see you in the next world
If you’re still around

To buy the music of John Mellencamp click HERE

September 29, 2010 - Posted by | New Music, New Releases, Video |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

