Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Ray Davies & Co

No wonder he is scratching his head…………………

Cited as an influence by a huge range of artists, a new Davies album will see younger songwriters join forces with the British legend.

In the works for over a year, ‘See My Friends’ has been much talked about. Now a tracklisting has leaked online which contains a truly bewildering array of guest artists.

Ray Davies has hooked up with fourteen artists on the album, ranging from metal icons to darlings of the nu-folk scene. Containing new material and re-workings of classic Kinks tracks ‘See My Friends’ is an exciting yet potentially bizarre album.

According to TwentyFourBit the album will contain guest appearances from Bruce Springsteen, Bon Jovi and more. Amongst the more bizarre propositions is an appearance from Metallica on the classic two chord cut ‘You Really Got Me’.

Elsewhere, Mumford And Sons duet with the singer on ‘Days’ while Amy MacDonald lends her vocals to ‘Dead End Street’. Re-visiting plenty of classic 60s cuts, the late Alex Chilton appears on ‘Til The End Of The Day’.

A seismic freakbeat single, the track allows Alex Chilton to recall his days as a teen scream icon with The Box Tops. Sadly dying earlier this year, the track is one of the last the Big Star icon completed.

Other guest stars include Black Francis, Spoon, Snow Patrol singer Gary Lightbody and a final run through of ‘All Day And All Of The Night’ featuring Smashing Pumpkins frontman Billy Corgan.

Ray Davies is set to release ‘See My Friends’ on November 1st. Tracklisting:

‘Better Things (Featuring Bruce Springsteen)’
‘Celluloid Heroes (Featuring Jon Bon Jovi & Richie Sambora)’
‘Days/This Time Tomorrow (Featuring Mumford & Sons)’
‘Long Way From Home (Featuring Lucinda Williams & The 88)’
‘You Really Got Me (Featuring Metallica)’
‘Lola (Featuring Paloma Faith)’
‘Waterloo Sunset (Featuring Jackson Browne)’
‘Til the End Of The Day (Featuring Alex Chilton & The 88)’
‘Dead End Street (Featuring Amy Macdonald)’
‘See My Friends (Featuring Spoon)’
‘This Is Where I Belong (Featuring Black Francis)’
‘David Watts (Featuring The 88)’
‘Tired Of Waiting (Featuring Gary Lightbody)’
‘All Day And All Of The Night/Destroyer (Featuring Billy Corgan)’


September 26, 2010 - Posted by | New News, New Releases, Video | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: