Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Sunday Sounds – Graham Cash

Songs for Beginners is Graham Nash’s first solo album, released in May 1971, and one of four high-profile albums released by each partner of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young in the wake of their chart-topping Déjà Vu album of 1970.

At its heart, however, Songs For Beginners is an album of love songs…tales of lost love, yes, but a romantic collection nonetheless.

No less than three songs among the eleven – “Better Days,” “Simple Man,” and “I Used To Be A King” – deal with Nash’s heartbroken break-up with singer/songwriter Joni Mitchell, of whom he wrote the CSNY gem “Our House.”

“I Used To Be A King” – Graham Nash

I used to be a King and everything around me turned to gold
I thought I had everything and now I’m left without a hand to hold
But it’s all right I’m O.K. How are you?
For what it’s worth I must say I loved you
And in my bed late at night, I miss you
Someone is going to take my heart
But no one is going to break my heart again

I used to be a King and everything around me turned to rust
It’s `cause I built my life on sand
And I watched it crumble in the dust
But it’s all right I’m O.K. and I want to know
how you are
For what it’s worth I must say I loved you as you are
And in my bed where are you?
Someone is going to take my heart
But no one is going to break my heart again
I used to be a King and everything around  me turned around
But I know all I have to do is sing
And I’ll lift myself way off the ground
Yeah, but it’s all right I’m O.K. How are you?
For what it’s worth I must say I loved you
And in my bed late at night where are you?
Someone is going to take my heart
But no one is going to break my heart again

Another song here, “Wounded Bird,” was written for friend and bandmate Stephen Stills, who was going through his own break-up with folk singer Judy Collins.

“Wounded Bird” – Graham Nash

I’ve watched you go through changes
That no man should face alone
Take to heel or tame the horse
The choice is still your own
But arm yourself against the pain
A wounded bird can give
And in the end remember
It’s with you you have to live
And in the end remember
It’s with you you have to live
Stand your ground I think you’ve got
The guts it takes to win
But you must learn to turn the keys
Before she’ll let you in
And understand the problems of the girl you want
So near or you’ll wear the coat of questions `til the
Answer hat is here
You’ll wear the coat of questions `til the
Answer hat is here
Serenade your angel with a love song from your eyes
Grow a little taller even though your age defies
Feel a little smaller
And in stature you will rise
A hobo or a poet must kill dragons for a bride;
And humble pie is always hard to swallow
With your pride

To buy the music of Graham Nash click HERE

June 27, 2010 - Posted by | Old Music, Video | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

