Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Friday Fun – Fortune Teller

“Fortune Teller” is a song written by Allen Toussaint under the pseudonym Naomi Neville and first recorded by Benny Spellman (single B-side on Minit Records 644)

Cover versions exist by The Rolling Stones (on their first live album, Got Live If You Want It! but overdubbed with screaming girls- the scream-free version can be found on the compilation More Hot Rocks (Big Hits & Fazed Cookies) ), The Hollies, The Who (on their famous Live at Leeds), The Merseybeats, Tony Jackson, The Downliners Sect, the Hardtimes, the Stellas (stereo CBS Germany 1965 and still found on new compilations), Strawberry Alarm Clock (recording as Thee Sixpence), and many others, including more recently the October 2007 album Raising Sand, performed by Robert Plant and Alison Krauss.

“Fortune Teller” – The Tony Jackson Group

I went to the fortune teller
To have my fortune read
I didn’t know what to tell her
I had a dizzy feeling in my head

Said she’d take a look at my palm
Said “Sonny you feel kind of warm”
She looked into her crystal ball
And said “I see lo–ove.”

I said it could not be so,
Not with all the girls I know.
She said when the next one arrives
Take a look into her eyes.

I left there in a hurry
Looking forward to my big surprise
The next thing I discovered
The fortune teller told me lies

So I ran back to that woman
Mad as I could be
Said I didn’t see nobody
Why’d she made a fool out of me?

At last something shook me
As if it came down from above
While looking at the fortune teller
I fell in lo–ove

Now I’m a happy fella
I’m married to the fortune teller
We’re as happy as we can be
– And what’s more I get my fortune told for free (spoken)

To buy the music of The Tony Jackson Group click HERE

June 11, 2010 - Posted by | Blast from The Past, Humour, Old Music | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

