Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Should I Stay Or Should I Go

The above song hit a big note with me in the autumn of 1982 when it was regularly played at Akram’s night club, St Mary’s Way, Dumbarton.

My long standing girlfriend of the time had gone off on holiday with her friend to give us some “space” the lyrics to the song perfectly captured my doubts about the relationship which was without doubt at a crossroads.

In the end despite several pints of strong lager and slow dance snog with some girl at the end of the night and against my better judgement I decided the answer was “stay”.

By November she decided it was “go”, she did return seven years later and we were married, six years later she was off again this time for good, somtimes you should always go with the head not the heart.

Another crossroad looms ahead, yet again I remain unsure but I will need to reach a conclusion soon.

Oh yeeeeeaaaaah

Wooh!

Darling you got to let me know
Should I stay or should I go?
If you say that you are mine
I’ll be here ’til the end of time
So you got to let me know
Should I stay or should I go?

Always tease tease tease
You’re happy when I’m on my knees
One day is fine, next day is black
So if you want me off your back
Well come on and let me know
Should I stay or should I go?

Should I stay or should I go now?
Should I stay or should I go now?
If I go there will be trouble
An’ if I stay it will be double
So come on and let me know!

This indecision’s bugging me
Esta indecision me molesta
If you don’t want me, set me free
Si no me quieres, librame
Exactly who’m I’m supposed to be
Dime que tengo que ser
Don’t you know which clothes even fit me?
¿sabes que ropas me quedan?
Come on and let me know
Me tienes que decir
Should I cool it or should I blow?
¿me debo ir o quedarme?

Split!
Yo me enfrio o lo sufro

Should I stay or should I go now?
yo me enfrio o lo sufro
Should I stay or should I go now?
yo me enfrio o lo sufro
If I go there will be trouble
Si me voy – va a haber peligro
And if I stay it will be double
Si me quedo es doble
So you gotta let me know
Pero me tienes que decir
Should I cool it or should I go?
yo me enfrio o lo sufro

Should I stay or should I go now?
yo me enfrio o lo sufro
If I go there will be trouble
Si me voy – va a haber peligro
And if I stay it will be double
Si me quedo es doble
So you gotta let me know
Pero me tienes que decir
Should I stay or should I go?

Should I Stay or Should I Go” is a song by  The Clash, from their album Combat Rock.

It was written in 1981 and featured Mick Jones on lead vocals. It became the band’s only number-one single, a decade after it was originally released after being used in a jeans commercial.

In November 2004, it was ranked at 228 on Rolling Stone’s 500 Greatest Songs of All Time.

 In 2009 it was ranked 42nd on VH1’s program 100 Greatest Hard Rock Songs.

The tune leans towards more of a retro punk rock sound than most of the other tracks on the album. Though many legends have arisen about what the song is about (one of which is Jones’ impending dismissal from the Clash in 1983), it is actually about a rocky personal relationship between Jones and singer Ellen Foley that would soon implode. The lyrics seem to reflect ups and downs concerning the relationship and the dilemma of sticking with or ending it.

The Spanish backing vocals are courtesy of Joe Strummer:

On the spur of the moment I said ‘I’m going to do the backing vocals in Spanish,’…We needed a translator so Eddie Garcia, the tape operator, called his mother in Brooklyn Heights and read her the lyrics over the phone and she translated them. But Eddie and his mum are Ecuadorian, so it’s Ecuadorian Spanish that me and Joe Ely are singing on the backing vocals.
—Joe Strummer, 1991

June 8, 2010 - Posted by | Friends, Video |

1 Comment »

  1. One of the best knowns tunes by The Clash and yet so unrepresentative of their sound………

    I’m fond enough of it, but much prefer Straight To Hell, the other side of the original Double-A single.

    “Sometimes you should always go with the head not the heart”……..excellent adcice HD, but life’s not much fun if you do that.

    Comment by jc | June 9, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

