Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

New News – Adele

Hugely successful singer Adele has begun sessions on the follow up to her debut album ’19’.

Released at the beginning of 2008, ’19’ failed to make the commercial impact on the British charts many expected it to. Instead, Adele set her sights on the United States with her powerful voice becoming a sensation.

Developing the stamina to tour, Adele’s venues increased in size every few months. Eventually, the singer sold out the Hollywood Bowl and invited her lifelong hero Etta James to play a support slot.

Speaking to Spin, Adele revealed recently that she has begun work on her eagerly awaited second album. Legendary producer Rick Rubin is at the helm, with sessions already under way for new material.

Inspired by “a shitty relationship” some of the new songs are written directly from Adele’s experiences. Relocating to California, the singer argues that “if I was in London, I’d get distracted and go out every night”.

Working with Rubin at the Shangri-La studios, Adele’s plan is to finish the album in time for an Autumn release.

Meanwhile, fans should not expect the new album to be identical to ’19’. Writing with producer Paul Epworth, the pair crafted “this bluesy, gospel sound which was, without me realizing, exactly the route I wanted to go down”.

Citing Alison Krauss as an influence, Adele revealed that she has been inspired by country music of late. “I think they’re the best songs written, just the emotion and the lyrics, and the way that they sing them” she said.

“I want people to get me, and I don’t think that they’ll be able to if I didn’t try to progress a little bit,” she says. “I just wanted to make good songs, and I think I’ve done that.”

Adele is due to release her second album in September / October.

Source www.clashmusic.com

Here is her cover of Dylan’s “Make You Feel My Love” from “Time Out Of Mind”

June 1, 2010 - Posted by | Cover Stories, New News, Video | ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] For previous Adele post click HERE […]

    Pingback by Return Of Adele « Helpless Dancer | November 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

