Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Sunday Sounds – Feel Like Going Home

This week’s Sunday Sounds is The Walkabouts cover of the Charlie Rich classic “Feel Like Going Home”

The Walkabouts are an American rock band formed in Seattle in 1984. The core members are vocalist Carla Torgerson and vocalist and songwriter Chris Eckman. Although the rest of the line-up has changed occasionally, for most of the time the other members have been Michael Wells, Glenn Slater and Terri Moeller.

The band draws inspiration from folk and country music, particularly Townes Van Zandt, Neil Young and Johnny Cash, but also from other types of artists and musical styles such as Scott Walker, Leonard Cohen, French chanson and Jacques Brel.

Their sound is typically rich, with string arrangements and keyboards in addition to the standard rock instruments. In reviews the band’s music is often described as melancholic or mellow, while Eckman’s lyrics, concerning such themes as human relations, loneliness and restlessness, are often emphasized as poetic.

The Walkabouts have achieved commercial success and a strong fanbase in Europe, where they have done promotion and extensive touring since early 1990s. They have occasionally even made it high on the record charts in countries such as Greece and Norway.

“Feel Like Going Home” – The Walkabouts

Lord, I feel like going home
I’ve tried and I fell and I’m tired and weary
Everything I’ve done is wrong
And I feel like going home

Lord, I tried to see you through
But it was too much for me
Now I’m coming home to you
Yeah, I feel like going home

Clouded skies are closing in
And not a friend around to help me
Of all the places I’ve been
Lord, I feel like going home

Lord, I feel like going home
I’ve tried and I fell and I’m tired and weary
Everything I’ve done is wrong
Lord, I feel like going home

Lord, I tried to see you through
But it was too much for me
Now I’m coming home to you
Yes, I feel like going home

Lord, I feel like going home
I’ve tried and I fell and I’m tired and weary
Everything I’ve done is wrong
Lord, I feel like going home

To buy the music of The Walkabouts click HERE

May 9, 2010 - Posted by | Old Music, Video | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

