Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Mother’s Day Bonus

It is “Mother’s Day” here in the UK and this track popped up on random play on ye olde iPod.

The track is a Jeff Buckley take on a Dylan song and features on the extened release of Buckley’s debut album “Grace” which is the only complete studio album by Jeff Buckley, released on August 23, 1994. While the album initially had poor sales, peaking at #149 in the U.S., it received wide critical acclaim and has now sold over 2 million copies worldwide. The extended version of the album (subtitled “Legacy Edition”) celebrating its tenth anniversary was released on August 24, 2004, and it peaked at #44 in the UK.

“Mama You Been On My Mind” – Jeff Buckley

Perhaps it’s the color of the sun cut flat
An’ cov’rin’ the crossroads I’m standing at,
Or maybe it’s the weather or something like that
But mama, you been on my mind.

I don’t mean trouble, please don’t put me down or get upset,
I am not pleadin’ or sayin’, “I can’t forget.”
I do not walk the floor bowed down an’ bent, but yet,
Mama, you been on my mind.

Even though my mind is hazy an’ my thoughts they might be narrow,
Where you been don’t bother me nor bring me down in sorrow.
It don’t even matter to me where you’re wakin’ up tomorrow,
But mama, you’re just on my mind.

I am not askin’ you to say words like “yes” or “no,”
Please understand me, I got no place for you t’ go.
I’m just breathin’ to myself, pretendin’ not that I don’t know,
Mama, you been on my mind.

When you wake up in the mornin’, baby, look inside your mirror.
You know I won’t be next to you, you know I won’t be near.
I’d just be curious to know if you can see yourself as clear
As someone who has had you on his mind.

To buy the music of Jeff Buckley click HERE

I know that “mama” in this context isn’t refering to “mother” but the coincidence was to good to miss out on.

As for the Dylan version a complete take was recorded for the “Another Side Of Bob Dylan” album, but for reasons unknown, it was rejected. Described by Tim Riley as “the echo of a left-behind affair that rebounds off a couple of self-aware curves (‘I am not askin’ you to say words like ‘yes’ or ‘no,’ / …I’m just breathin’ to myself, pretendin’ not that I don’t know),” the song was soon covered by Joan Baez, who had a considerable amount of commercial success with it.

Dylan’s version would not see released until The Bootleg Series Volumes 1-3 (Rare & Unreleased) 1961-1991 in 1991

March 14, 2010 - Posted by | Family, Old Music | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

