Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Sharon Jones

Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings are releasing a new album, I Learned the Hard Way, during the first week in April here is the album’s title track for your immediate attention.

“I Learned The Hard Way” – Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings

This their fourth album doesn’t drift far from their “Aretha” groove, here is their record companies brief release.

Daptone Records: “I Learned the Hard Way was produced by Bosco Mann and recorded on an Ampex eight-track tape machine by Gabriel Roth in Daptone Records’ House of Soul studios, the record drips with a warmth and spontaneity rarely found since the golden days of Muscle Shoals and Stax. Sharon’s raw power, rhythmic swagger, moaning soulfulness, and melodic command set her firmly alongside Tina Turner, James Brown, Mavis Staples, and Aretha as a fixture in the canon of soul music. From the lush Philly-Soul fanfare that ushers in “The Game Gets Old” at the top of the record, to the stripped down Sam Cooke-style “Mama Don’t Like My Man” at the tail, the Dap-Kings dance seamlessly through both the most crafted and simple arrangements with subtlety and discipline.”

01 The Game Gets Old
02 I Learned the Hard Way
03 Better Things
04 Give It Back
05 Money
06 The Reason
07 Window Shopping
08 She Ain’t a Child No More
09 I’ll Still Be True
10 Without a Heart
11 If You Call
12 Mama Don’t Like My Man

To buy the music of Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings click HERE

February 6, 2010 Posted by | New Music, New News, R&B, Soul, Video | | 2 Comments


%d bloggers like this: