Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

24

When we last saw Jack Bauer (Golden Globe® and Emmy® winner Kiefer Sutherland), his life was hanging in the balance. But, true to form, the hardest man in television is back for another heart stopping, action-packed series of the award-winning US drama series 24. With a relocation to New York, the return of CTU and new exciting cast additions, this season looks set to follow Day 7 in being one of the best yet when it returns to Sky1 HD and Sky1 on Sunday 24 January.

At the start of 24’s new, eighth season, Bauer is hoping for a quiet life with his daughter Kim (Elisha Cuthbert, Captivity) and his granddaughter. However, a group of terrorists have other plans and an assassination plot against a visiting Middle Eastern leader Omar Hassan (Anil Kapoor, Slumdog Millionaire) is uncovered. It’s not long before Bauer is called upon to help prevent Hassan’s murder.

Kiefer Sutherland said: “Season 7 and 8…are really connected together. The storylines from Season 7 really do play all the way through into Season 8. The setup for [this season] is the most realistic political thing that I think we’ve ever done since we started the show. This season is more grounded in what possibly could happen. There’s a sense of reality that almost brings it back to Season 1.”

CTU is back in action and based in New York, headed up by Special Agent Brian Hastings (Mykelti Williamson, Forrest Gump). He is joined by brainy bombshell Dana Walsh (Katee Sackhoff, Battlestar Galactica) and her fiancé, head of field operation Cole Ortiz (Freddie Prinze Jr, I Know What You Did Last Summer).

Returning for Day 8 are CTU devotee Chloe O’Brian (Mary Lynn Rajskub, Little Miss Sunshine), Renee Walker (Annie Wersching, General Hospital) and President Allison Taylor played by Cherry Jones (Ocean’s Twelve) fresh from her Emmy® win for her work on Day 7. Plus, villainous ex-president Charles Logan (Gregory Itzin, The Mentalist) is set to return when Taylor enlists him to assist with an escalating crisis. “The opportunity for these two remarkable actors to share the stage was simply too compelling to pass up,” said executive producer Howard Gordon of the unison of the current and previous presidents.

24 Day 8 looks set to add another enthralling, shock-filled chapter to the series when it launches with a double bill in January 2010.

This is all an excuse to post this track which was a favourite of Fiona’s.

“4+20” – Crosby Stills Nash & Young

4+20 years ago
I come into this life
The song of a woman
And a man who lived in strife
He was tired of being poor
And he wasn’t into selling door to door
And he worked like the devil to be more

A different kind of poverty now upsets my soul
Night after sleepless night
I walk the floor and I want to know
Why am I so alone?
Where is my woman can I bring her home?
Have I driven her away?
Is she gone?

Morning comes to sunrise
And I’m driven to my bed
I see that it is empty
And there’s devils in my head
I embrace the many colored beast
I grow weary of the torment
Can there be no peace?
And I find myself just wishing that my life would simply cease

January 2, 2010 - Posted by | Fiona, Mrs D, Old Music, Television | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Since I follow the Seasons of 24 with all of Jack’s “bad days”, your site turned up in a Google alert for me. Like many fans, I’m anxiously waiting for the next 2 weeks to fast forward to the 17th, (in the states.) While your post is a fine summation, the awesome discovery for me was that you posted the MP3 for “4 & 20″…I was instantly taken back 20 years. OK, more like 40 years, but who’s counting? Thank you for this memory treat!
    Cheers & Happy New Year!

    Comment by wildchild | January 2, 2010 | Reply

    • Glad you enjoyed the track.

      Thanks for dropping in and come back soon.

      HD

      Comment by thehelplessdancer | January 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

