Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Christmas Jukebox

Despite all my efforts it seems that Christmas cannot be ignored although I would rather draw the curtains and turn out the lights sometimes you have got to put on a face and get on with it.

Christmas only comes once a year and as such you need to let it happen as you never know what might be right around the next corner.

So to make posting easy for the coming week my concentration will be on the festive song, hopefully you will find some new holiday songs you can actually enjoy and hopefully some will re-kindle childhood memories or memories forgotten after dubious office parties.

First up a nice new cover version of an old Jim Reeves standard from the great Camera Obscura

“The Blizzard” – Camera Obscura

There’s a blizzard comin’ on how I’m wishin’ I was home
For my pony’s lame and he can’t hardly stand
Listen to that northern sigh if we don’t get home we’ll die
But it’s only seven miles to Mary Anne
It’s only seven miles to Mary Anne
You can bet we’re on her mind for it’s nearly christmas time
And I’ll bet there’s hot biscuits in the pan
Lord, my hands feel like they’re froze and there’s a numbness in my toes
But, it’s only five more miles to Mary Anne
It’s only five more miles to Mary Anne
That wind’s howlin’ and it seems mighty like a woman’s screams
So we’d best be movin’ faster if we can
Dan just think about that barn with that hay so soft and warm
For it’s only three more miles to Mary Anne
It’s only three more miles to Mary Anne
Dan get up you ornery cuss or you’ll be the death of us
I’m so weary but I’ll help you if I can
All right Dan perhaps it’s best that we stop awhile and rest
For it’s still a hundred yards to Mary Anne
It’s still a hundred yeards to Mary Anne
Late that night the storm was gone and they found him there at dawn
He’d a made it but he couldn’t leave ol’ Dan
Yes, they found him there on the plains his hands frozed to the reins
He was just a hundred yards from Mary Anne
He was just a hundred yards from Mary Anne

Now didn’t that just cheer you all up.

No?

Well try this then

“Zat You Santa Claus?” – Louis Armstrong

‘Zat You, Santa Claus?
Gifts I’m preparing for some Christmas sharing,
But I pause because,
Hanging my stocking I can hear a knocking.
‘Zat you, Santa Claus?
Sure is dark out, ain’t the slightest spark out.
‘Pon my slackened jaw!
Who’s there? Who is it stopping for a visit?
‘Zat you, Santa Claus?
Are you bringing a present for me,
Something pleasantly pleasant for me?
Then it’s just what I’ve been waiting for.
Would you mind slipping it under the door?
Cold winds are howling, or could that be growling?
My legs feel like straws.
My my oh me my, kindly would you reply?
‘Zat you, Santa Claus?
Hanging the stocking, I can hear a knocking.
‘Zat you, Santa Claus?
I say, who’s there, who is it? Are you stopping for a visit?
‘Zat you, Santa Claus?
Oh there, Santa, you gave me a scare.
Now stop teasing cause I know you’re there.
We don’t believe in no goblins today,
But I can’t explain why I’m shaking that way.
Bet I can see ole Santa in the keyhole.
I’ll get to the cause.
One peek and I’ll try there; oh oh, there’s an eye there!
‘Zat you, Santa Claus?
Please, please, pity my knees!
Say that’s you, Santa Claus!

December 18, 2009 - Posted by | Christmas, Jazz Vocal, New Music, Old Music | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

