Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Herbie Hancock

Today is the first day of December and whilst the mere thought of Christmas this year breaks my heart there is no avoiding it.

So here as an early token gesture is Herbie Hancock with a cover of the Joni Mitchell classic “River” with Corinne Bailey Rae as the guest vocalist’.

“River” – Herbie Hancock with Corinne Bailey Rae

It’s coming on Christmas
They’re cutting down trees
They’re putting up reindeer
And singing songs of joy and peace
Oh I wish I had a river
I could skate away on
But it don’t snow here
It stays pretty green
I’m going to make a lot of money
Then I’m going to quit this crazy scene
I wish I had a river
I could skate away on
I wish I had a river so long
I would teach my feet to fly
Oh I wish I had a river
I could skate away on
I made my baby cry

He tried hard to help me
You know, he put me at ease
And he loved me so naughty
Made me weak in the knees
Oh I wish I had a river
I could skate away on
I’m so hard to handle
I’m selfish and I’m sad
Now I’ve gone and lost the best baby
That I ever had
Oh I wish I had a river
I could skate away on
I wish I had a river so long
I would teach my feet to fly
Oh I wish I had a river
I could skate away on
I made my baby say goodbye

It’s coming on Christmas
They’re cutting down trees
They’re putting up reindeer
And singing songs of joy and peace
I wish I had a river
I could skate away on

On paper, River sounds like a match made in several versions of heaven. Legendary pianist Herbie Hancock re-imagines Joni Mitchell with his hand-picked, star-studded band–including saxophonist Wayne Shorter–in tow. Luminary guests lend vocals to a song apiece: Norah Jones (“Court and Spark”), Tina Turner (“Edith and the Kingpin”), Corinne Bailey Rae (“River”), Luciana Souza (“Amelia”), Leonard Cohen (with an unsettlingly sanguine version of “The Jungle Line”), even Mitchell herself (“Tea Leaf Prophecy”). In the event, though, a few fundamental elements go awry. Hancock plays with almost saccharine understatement throughout, and even Shorter’s seminal “Nefertiti” and Duke Ellington’s “Solitude” fall into the album’s presiding, somnolent surface, though to a lesser degree does the instrumental version of Mitchell’s “Sweet Bird.” But girding, and in some measure, saving, the proceedings, the lyrics here testify to a subtler wisdom guiding Hancock’s set list. The mix includes a continuum from intrepid classics to dusty, fans-only fare, but a distinct reverence for Joni Mitchell the Poet threads them together, and, in the end, this album works best as a sleepy window into one fan’s giddy and particular love affair with his source material. Fans of Hancock win out. –Jason Kirk

Source www.amazon .com

To buy the music of Herbie Hancock click HERE

December 1, 2009 - Posted by | Christmas, Jazz Vocal, Old Music, Video | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

