Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Lonely Blue Boy

“Lonely Blue Boy” – Elvis Costello

My name should be trouble
My name should be woe
‘Cause trouble and heartaches are all that I know
Oh oh, lonely, lonely blue boy is my name

My heart has been empty
My life has been torn
It must have been raining the day I was born
Oh oh, lonely, lonely blue boy is my name

I’m so afraid of tomorrow
So sick and tired of today
They say that love is the answer
But love never came my way

I’m writing this letter to someone unknown
And if you should find it and if you’re alone
Oh oh, lonely, lonely blue boy is my name
Oh oh, lonely, lonely blue boy is my name

Blood and Chocolate is an 1986 album by Elvis Costello and the Attractions. The album reunited Costello, the Attractions and producer Nick Lowe, but it was the last recorded by the group before a breakup that would last for eight years. The album was, unusually for its time as a studio album, recorded in a single large room at high volume, with the band listening to each other on monitor speakers rather than headphones. Costello describes it as “a record of people beating and twanging things with a fair amount of yelling”.

Costello’s singing and playing is credited on the album under the pseudonym “Napoleon Dynamite,” while his songwriting is credited to him under his actual surname, “MacManus” (with the exception of “I Hope You’re Happy Now”, which is credited to “Costello”).

The above track, written by Fred Wise & Ben Weisman recorded by Elvis Presley and Conway Twitty only featured on the bonus disc issued in 2002 as part of the Rhino Records expanded re-release.

To buy the music of Elvis Costello click HERE

November 23, 2009 - Posted by | Old Music, The Dugs | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

