Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Early One Morning – Eva Cassidy

somewhere

Eva Marie Cassidy (February 2, 1963 – November 2, 1996) was an American vocalist known for her interpretations of jazz, blues, folk, gospel, country and pop classics. In 1992 she released her first album, The Other Side, a set of duets with go-go musician Chuck Brown, followed by a live solo album, Live at Blues Alley in 1996. Although she had been honored by the Washington Area Music Association, she was virtually unknown outside her native Washington, DC when she died of melanoma in 1996.

Four years later, Cassidy’s music was brought to the attention of British audiences when her version of “Over the Rainbow” was played by Terry Wogan on BBC Radio 2. Following the overwhelming response, a camcorder recording of “Over the Rainbow”, taken at the Blues Alley, was shown on BBC Two‘s Top of the Pops 2. Shortly afterwards, the compilation album Songbird climbed to the top of the UK Albums Charts, almost three years after its initial release. The chart success in the United Kingdom led to increased recognition worldwide; as of 2008 her posthumously released recordings, including three UK #1s, have sold around eight million copies.

Somewhere is the title of Eva Cassidy‘s seventh posthumous album. For the first time, it includes two songs written by Eva Cassidy herself.

Here is her great blues song

“Early One Morning” – Eva Cassidy

Early one morning
As the sun was rising
I heard a voice in the walley below.

Don’t decieve me
Don’t you leave me
How could you treat
A poor girl so?

Early one morning
I saw her walking
I heard a voice in the walley below.

Don’t decieve me
Don’t you leave me
How could you treat
A poor boy so?

So I sit on yonder hill
And I wonder if anyone
Thinks of me still

Why did you leave me?
Why did you decieve me?
How could you treat
A poor girl so?

If anyone thinks of me still
Why did you leave me?

Despite having the same song title it is not a take on the Elmore James song

“Early One Morning” – Elmore James

 

To buy the music of Eva Cassidy click HERE

 

To buy the music of Elmore James click HERE

October 8, 2009 - Posted by | Blast from The Past, Blues, Old Music, Video | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

