Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Magical Mystery Tour

magical mystery tour

Produced for a 1967 Christmas TV Film The Beatles wrote and directed “The Magical Mystery Tour” the soundtrack for which featured six new songs and was released in a double EP format on the 6th December.

Front Cover

Front Cover

Inside Front Cover

Inside Front Cover

Inside Back Cover

Inside Back Cover

Back Cover

Back Cover

The film was not welcomed with open arms by the viewing public and was panned universally by the critics as over indulgent.

The soundtrack, was expanded to an eleven track album in the US with the extra five tracks being recent singles which had not appeared on any album. This format only being added to The Beatles UK catalogue in 1976 and remastered in 2009 in this form. However yet again the soundtrack in either form was much better than the celluloid it was to represent.

The title track was a rousing call to arms and it is always a great party song, the “Mystery Tour” in question was based on the traditional annual bus trips from Liverpool to Blackpool to see the lights.

Perhaps “Flying” (the first track to be credited to all four Beatles) and “Blue Jay Way” could be considered the weak links in the original six tracks, however, “The Fool On The Hill” would become an immediate classic and “I Am The Warlus” which would later be revived courtesy of an Oasis cover.

My personal favourite from the additional tracks is “Hello Goodbye released as a single on 24th November 1967”

You say yes, I say no
You say stop and I say go, go, go
Oh, no
You say goodbye and I say hello
Hello, hello
I don’t know why you say goodbye
I say hello
Hello, hello
I don’t know why you say goodbye
I say hello

I say high, you say low
You say why, and I say I don’t know
Oh, no
You say goodbye and I say hello
Hello, hello
I don’t know why you say goodbye
I say hello
Hello, hello
I don’t know why you say goodbye
I say hello

Why, why, why, why, why, why
Do you say good bye
Goodbye, bye, bye, bye, bye

Oh, no
You say goodbye and I say hello
Hello, hello
I don’t know why you say goodbye
I say hello
Hello, hello
I don’t know why you say goodbye
I say hello
hello, hello
I don’t know why you say goodbye I say hello
Hello

Hela, heba helloa
Hela, heba helloa

“All You Need Is Love” is another one of those Beatles songs which can get on one’s wick, perhaps due to over exposure, however, it does have a musical key event in history as a performance of it was the UK’s contribution on the 26th June 1967 to the first globally watched television broadcast “Our World”

For more information on this album click HERE

To buy the music of The Beatles click HERE

Visit www.thebeatles.com

September 13, 2009 - Posted by | Old Music, Video | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

