Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Rubber Soul

rubber soul

Let me now introduce you to what many regard as the first classic Beatles album “Rubber Soul”, released on the 3rd December 1965 it will have been found in many a teenager’s stocking that Christmas.

The cover yet again featured a photograph by Robert Freeman though the stretched image was come across by accident rather than intent when a card onto which he was projecting a slide slipped thus creating the stretching image.

The sleeve was also the first not to feature the word “Beatles” on the front cover, perhaps every one in the world knew their face by then. As for the term “Rubber Soul” it was based on the term “plastic” soul which McCartney had heard used to describe Mick Jagger’s singing style.

Rubber Soul Session With the Plastic Soul Mr Jagger

Rubber Soul Session With the Plastic Soul Mr Jagger

For me though the album will always have a place in my heart due to the inclusion of both Fiona and my own favourite Beatles’ song “In My Life”

Rather than the original here is the great Roddy Frame, of Aztec Camera, with his solo rendition.

There are places i’ll remember
All my life though some have changed
Some forever not for better
Some have gone and some remain
All these places have their moments
With lovers and friends i still can recall
Some are dead and some are living
In my life i’ve loved them all

But of all these friends and lovers
There is no one compares with you
And these memories lose their meaning
When i think of love as something new
Though i know i’ll never lose affection
For people and things that went before
I know i’ll often stop and think about them
In my life i love you more

Though i know i’ll never lose affection
For people and things that went before
I know i’ll often stop and think about them
In my life i love you more
In my life i love you more

Musically the albums represents a couple of firsts:-

First appearance of the George Harrison sitar on Norwegian Wood, now I’m not a big fan of the sitar as on hearing it my stomach immediately prepares for a deluge of curry but I do like this song and the other Harrison demo “While My Sitar Gently Weeps…..Pakora Sauce” regrettably the latter only exists in my imagination.

First album on which George Martin manipulated the recorded sound, first of many as it happens, in this instance speeding up the taped sound of piano to sound like the a harpsichord for the bridge in “In My Life”

So you get to hear the original after all!!

Paul with Rubber Soul

For more information on this album click HERE

To buy The Beatles music click HERE

Visit www.thebeatles.com

September 11, 2009 - Posted by | Old Music, Video | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

