Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

The Return of Quadrophenia

quodrophenia-album-sleeve

Pete Townshend will be on Radio 2 tonight (21st April) to discuss the return of Quadrophenia as a full theatre stage production.

The original 1973 album is my all time favourite record and the theme has in the past surfaces via the 1979 film “Quadrophenia”

quadrophenia-film-poster

and in 1996 via The Who’s Quadrophenia tours.

quadrophenia-tour-programme

After the world wide success of the “Tommy” stage show

toommy-stage

 it is surprising that it has taken so long for a fully fledged production to hit the road round many of the country’s biggest theatres.

Watch the video trailer HERE

You can get full information on dates and bookings by clicking HERE

quadrophenia-show

quadrophenia-show-2

Please don’t be put off by the 60’s mod setting as this is really just the dressing, the real story lies in the transistion from child to adult and that time where the world and everyone seems to be against you, I found Quadrophenia aged 15 perfect timing and it will forever remain deep in my heart and soul.

If you are buying an album this week make it Quadrophenia buy HERE

“The Real Me” – The Who

I went back to the doctor
To get another shrink.
I sit and tell him about my weekend,
But he never betrays what he thinks.

Can you see the real me, doctor?

I went back to my mother
I said, “I’m crazy ma, help me.”
She said, “I know how it feels son,
‘Cause it runs in the family.”

Can you see the real me, mother?

The cracks between the paving stones
Look like rivers of flowing veins.
Strange people who know me
Peeping from behind every window pane.
The girl I used to love
Lives in this yellow house.
Yesterday she passed me by,
She doesn’t want to know me now.

Can you see the real me, can you?

I ended up with the preacher,
Full of lies and hate,
I seemed to scare him a little
So he showed me to the golden gate.

Can you see the real me preacher?
Can you see the real me doctor?
Can you see the real me mother?
Can you see the real me?

April 21, 2009 - Posted by | New News, Old Music, The Who, Video | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I have a jacket quite like Jimmy’s, minus any patches.

    Comment by ourboy | April 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. In the past I had one as well, straight from the local Army & Navy Store with supposedly genuine bullet hole!!

    HD

    Comment by thehelplessdancer | April 21, 2009 | Reply

  3. I had a genuine US Army parka. It came with a liner and all. I wore that one threadbare. This one I got is very much like it, but not genuine Army gear. I think I got it from H & M here in Detroit. Wear it pretty much everyday in the spring.

    Comment by ourboy | April 22, 2009 | Reply

  4. Great album.

    Great film!

    Comment by bigrab | April 29, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

