Helpless Dancer

The Endless Note

Sunday Jazz – Claire Martin

claire-martin

I first encountered Claire Martin back in 1996 at the Glasgow Jazz Festival where she was appearing in a double header billing with Martin Taylor, both being Linn Records artists, I spent some time talking with her after her show and unusually for me even asked for an autograph!

She still records for Linn Records which means that all her recordings have a superb production and sound which enhances her voice to a new level.

To me she is the perfect example of a good modern era jazz singer as she is comfortable with the standards but equally stretches her portfolio to include several covers of modern songs such as this example below which is a Al Kooper composition for Blood Sweat & Tears

“I’l Love You More Than You Will Ever Know” – Claire Martin

If I ever leave you
You can say I told you so
And if I ever hurt you baby
You know I hurt myself as well

   (Chorus:)
   Is that any way for a man to carry on
   D’you think he wants his little loved one gone?
   I love you Baby, more than you’ll ever know
   More than you’ll ever know

When I wasn’t makin’ too much money
You know where my paycheck went
You know I brought it home to baby
And I never spent one red cent

   (Chorus)

I’m not tryin’ to be
Any kind of man
I’m tryin’ to be somebody
You can love, trust, and understand
I know that I can be, yeah yeah
A part of you that no one else could see
I just gotta hear, to hear you say
It’s all right
Yeah, yeah, yeah!

I’m only flesh and blood
But I can be anything that you demand
I could president of General Motors baby, heh
Or just a tiny little grain of sand

   (Chorus)

   (Guitar Solo)(Sax Solo)

If I ever leave you
You can say I told you so
And if I ever hurt you baby
You know I hurt myself as well

   (Chorus)

I love you, I love you, I love you baby!
Well all right!
I told ya, so many times before
I love you
I love you!
If you don’t know, then I’ll tell ya one more time
I love you!
I love you!

For a full biography and to buy her music click HERE

Claire Martin is a presenter on Radio 3 click HERE

This is her cover of Nick Drake’s River Man

March 29, 2009 - Posted by | Jazz Vocal, Old Music, Video | ,

2 Comments »

  1. Agreed…she is great, caught up with her on sunday at a gig in Swansea, wrote a short post on my blog:

    http://villabourani.wordpress.com/2010/05/02/claire-martin-gareth-williams-trio/

    Comment by villabourani | May 4, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks for dropping in.

      Claire returns to the Glasgow Jazz Festival for a guest vocalist spot on the 24th June with Todd Gordon and Friends and the FAR Squadronaires Big Band in a charity concert “Help For Heroes.

      Also worth noting is the brilliant Carol Kidd who performs the songs of Gershwin on the 18th June.

      Both concerts are at the Glasgow Royal Concert Hall.

      HD

      Comment by thehelplessdancer | May 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

